Invited by the Standing Committee on the Status of Women

Johanne Perron, Executive Director of the New Brunswick Coalition for Pay Equity, has been invited to meet the House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women, as a witness on May 26, 2010. 
The Standing Committee decided to hold a special meeting “to examine the manner in which funding is distributed by Status of Women Canada, and in particular, examine the apparent denial of funding to previous Status of Women Canada grant recipients in the 2009 call for submissions.”
The committee also invited the current and former Ministers of State for the Status of Women, the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, Womenspace Resource Centre and the Conseil d’intervention pour l’accès des femmes au travail.

Listen to the meeting on May 26, from 7pm to 9 pm (Maritimes):


The Standing Committee on the Status of Women was created with the adoption of a motion of the House of Commons on 5 October 2004. “The House of Commons has mandated the Standing Committee to review the particular areas of federal policy relating to the status of women. In addition, other matters may also be referred to the Committee by the House for examination, such as bills and Estimates for Order in Council appointments. The Committee has the power to initiate studies without a referral from the House, that is, it may examine and report on all subjects connected to its mandate.” (source:
The members of the Committee are:
Hedy Fry (PL)
Irene Mathyssen (NDP)
Cathy McLeod (PC)
Sylvie Boucher(PC)
Lois Brown(PC)
Paul Calandra(PC)
Nicole Demers(BQ)
Luc Desnoyers(BQ)
Anita Neville(PL)
Michelle Simson (PL)
Alice Wong (PC)



make donations

You support pay equity legislation and want to follow closely this issue? Join our organization!

Our Newsletter is published 2 to 4 times a year. Read the latest edition!


New Brunswick Coalition for Pay Equity Inc. © 2018